Review: Marked (House of Night #1) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Hiya…

So I haven’t gotten quite back into the swing of things – so for the time being I haven’t signed up to the fabulous Blog Tour Companies that I previously LOVED.

Therefor instead of the usual up and comings I will be reading and reviewing some more established authors.

First Up:
MARKEDMarked (House of Night #1) by P.C and Kristin Cast

Synopsis:

After a Vampire Tracker Marks her with a crescent moon on her forehead, 16-year-old Zoey Redbird enters the House of Night and learns that she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx and has affinities for all five elements: Air, Fire Water, Earth and Spirit. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is mis-using her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny – with a little help from her new vampyre friends (or Nerd Herd, as Aphrodite calls them)

Rating: 3.5 Bookworms

Author: P.C and Kristin Cast

Review:

So not my normal thoroughfare… But I used to love these a couple of years ago so I went back to revisit an old friend. I guess I must have grown up in the last few years because I wasn’t quite as enamored with it as I once was.

The story line is a good one – intriguing, all twisty and turny and a good cast of characters (albeit a little predictable with the ‘token’ gay guy as they put it in the book). Zoey is a really fun character who is forced to grow up, and stand up when she pushes the bully out of the lime light but I have to say as amused as I was with Zoey’s vocabulary 4 years ago I kind of got annoyed with it this time around.

Please just please say Bull Shit. Really. It ain’t that hard *sigh*.

The story is full of colour, interesting facts and really great ideas but if you are over 21 I doubt it is for you.

Lemme Know What You Think

