Spotlight: The Convenience of Lies by Kimberly Castillo

TCOLcoverSynopsis:

“It doesn’t matter if it’s right or wrong. All that matters is if you can. If you can do something, what difference does it make?”

Based on a true story, The Convenience of Lies is a novel that keeps readers up past midnight with its story of friendship, mystery, crime, sex, and betrayal. Set in a suburban town, this story is told through the eyes of a high school junior, Mackenzie, who describes her crush on a “bad boy,” Ramon, and her relationship with her best friend, Kira. During the course of the story, Mackenzie does her best to attract the affections of Ramon while her friendship with Kira evolves. Eventually, the different characters’ property starts getting vandalized and a mystery develops as Mackenzie and Kira try to get to the bottom of who is behind the vandalism.

Advance Praise for The Convenience of Lies:

“If you are looking for enlightenment as well as entertainment, The Convenience of Lies is a good read for you. It is an excellent example of the intersection of authenticity and creativity, good story telling and an astute insight into human psychology and how that affects our relationships. The Convenience of Lies is an important work of literature for both young adult readers and older readers because it does more than simply tell an interesting story, it gives the gift of experience. Reading about these characters is like meeting new friends, people you’ll feel like you know and you will care about their emotions, experiences and development. You might even learn something about your own life by sharing their feelings and experiences. This is exactly what good literature is supposed to do. I highly recommend The Convenience of Lies to readers who are as interested in emotional development and underlying motivation as they are in action, people who appreciate the empathy they can experience through literature. You will enjoy and learn from this journey.” ~Sandra Shwayder Sanchez, Kirkus Reviews

“This book was hard to put down and full of useful validating information. As an MFT I have suggested this book to many teenagers and young adults whom have struggled with similar issues, opening up the door for change. The writer gave a sincere portrayal of her struggles, such a difficult feat…..well done to Ms. Castillo I truly appreciate the risk you took in sharing your story.” ~Brenda Hopley, MFT

“The Convenience of Lies is an engaging coming-of-age story about a naïve teenager who allows her fascination with a “bad-boy” to blind her to his abusive personality. The book’s believable teenage characters seek friendship, thrills, mystery, and romance in a typical suburban neighborhood, and young-adult readers will find themselves unable to put the book down as they become enthralled by the disturbing consequences the characters face because they choose to romanticize misbehavior. Several of the high school students in my classes, this novel’s targeted audience, told me that the characters and situations are believable and true to life, and that they stayed up half the night to finish reading it. Because this novel is short and the story moves quickly, it is also perfect for reluctant readers who just want to involve themselves in a compelling and true-to-life story, not wallow in extended description.” ~Sharon Kelley, High School English Teacher

AuthorPhotoCroppedAuthor Bio:

Kimberly Castillo wrote the first version of The Convenience of Lies when she was a teenager. After studying the process of storytelling at California State University Northridge, where she earned her Bachelor’s degree in film production, she revisited this project to complete the story. The Convenience of Lies is her debut novel.

Kimberly is currently studying to be a doctor of optometry at Western University of Health Sciences and lives in Southern California with her husband and three cats.

Here are some important links:

Amazon Listing: http://www.amazon.com/The-Convenience-Lies-Kimberly-Castillo/dp/1492314943/

Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FY7AZ5O

Book’s Website: http://theconvenienceoflies.webs.com/

My blog: http://kimberlycastillobooks.blogspot.com/

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kimberly-Castillo-Books/106989759471305

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/KimCastilloOD

My Linkden: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kimberlyacastillo

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19377882-the-convenience-of-lies

Interview with Kimberly Castillo:

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Southern California, and I call Southern California my home.

Is there an Author that you would really like to meet?

J.K. Rowling of course!

Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?

I prefer physical copies of books. It is incredibly satisfying to look at my pile of books on my bookshelves. And I also don’t have to freak out about frying my kindle if I drop my book into the bath tub while reading. #guiltypleasure

Do you buy a book by the cover?

Nope. Usually I buy by recommendation. I will admit that Rarely there are books where the cover annoyed me so much I’ve been hesitant to pick it up. However, if it comes highly recommended by someone who I respect, I’ll overlook that detail.

Do you write under a pen name?

The next series I’m most keen to write will come out under a pen name. And no, I’m not going to tell you what that pen name or series will be!

An early childhood memory –

My first memory is from when I was about 1.5 years old. I had received a new toy that was a wooden bear with ropes through his hands and feet. If you pulled on the strings the right way the bear would climb up them. My memory was of my aunt’s boyfriend at the time showing me how to use this toy, and my mind was blown at its anti-gravitational properties. Though I don’t think I used those words to describe it.

Do you ever write in your PJ’s?

I’ve written in my bath tub.

You have no idea how happy I am to find out the above!!!! I have been looking for an author that has written naked. Jackpot!

Thanks for stopping by Kimberly. 🙂

Lemme Know What You Think

