Interview with author John Guillen of Devided Within

1384994314Good day lovely readers. Today we have a fantastic interview with the excellent author of Devided Within – John Guillen. Author Photo - Copy

Interview:

Hi John, I am very excited to have you on Why I Can’t Stop Reading today. Thank you for taking the time to answer some of my questions.

 Q: Do you have any hidden phobia’s? Spiders, boogiemen or creepy crawly monsters under your bed?

A: Well, this is probably one of the more embarrassing things I can think of for someone my age, but I’ll share. I’m awfully afraid of cockroaches. I don’t typically tell this to people out of fear that I might be looked upon differently, BUT what the heck, right? Especially the flying ones. Terrifying little things.

Q: Would you rather be a worker ant or worker bee?

A: This is a tough one. I have no earthly idea. Maybe a worker bee because it would be able to fly? I could then say I have a superpower. Yes, I think the worker bee.

Q: (I keep on asking this question because I am determined to get a yes one of these days) Do you ever write naked?

A: Ha! No. I spend many hours sitting in front of my laptop where I do all of my writing, but none of those happen while naked. Sorry!

Q: Are you a Sherlock Holmes groupie or more of a Columbo groupie?

A: Honestly, neither. Forgive me, but I actually had to look up Columbo when answering this question, which is probably bad considering I’ve started a detective series of my own. I like more modern detective writers and series. My favorites include Michael Connelly, Steve Hamilton, Robert B. Parker, and James Patterson. Most of the books I read were written within the last twenty years or so. I’m not against works written prior, but I’ve just moved more toward more current writers in my reading habits.

Q: Who is your favourite superhero?

A: I’ll first tell you that I’m not a fan at all of Batman. I tell people this and they look at me like I’m out of my mind. I mean, I like Iron Man somewhat, but I wonder if it would be accurate for me to identify him as my favorite. Can I say Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games? She’s not a superhero, but she is a hero. To me, at least.

How about some…

Word association?

Spyglass – detective

Fishing Rod – fish

Tin Tin – old

Overcoat – detective

 Dust – dawn

Words – phrases

Tea – cup

Waves – ocean

Notebook – Rachel McAdams!

Elvis Presley – Rock n’ Roll

And finally we can get down to business

Q: Why crime novels?

A: You know, I wish I had a great, long answer to answer this question because I can’t count the number of times I’ve been asked this. But it’s really rather simple. We all have our genre of choice that most of our books on our Kindles or Nooks or (if you’re like me) bookshelves fall in; mine just happens to be crime fiction. But I do have a short story to tell about why I think this came to be.

A few years ago while still in high school I just happened to be in my local Barnes and Noble browsing the Mystery shelves looking for a new book. I read the backs of many different books but ultimately decided to purchase High Profile (Jesse Stone #6) by Robert B. Parker.  I’d never before read a book by Parker, but decided on something new. Suffice it to say that I read and loved the book and began the series from the beginning shortly thereafter, and later started Parker’s Spenser detective series. I now have 21 books by Robert B. Parker and have enjoyed every one of them.

I guess my answer to your question is that I read a detective story that I liked and fell in love with crime fiction as a whole.

Q: Who was your biggest inspiration growing up?

A: Finally, an easy one. Mom and dad. I’ve never met two people who work harder than they do and they continue to be my biggest inspiration. I don’t know too many parents who would like the idea of their twenty one-year-old son graduating from college in three years and then saying that he’s going to be a writer. It isn’t exactly the greatest plan in the world, but I’ve had their support from the start and it allows me to continue writing.

Q: It is said that a writer is probably their own worst critic. Can the same be said for you?

A: Absolutely. My philosophy when editing my own work is to do so a handful of times and then to move on. I will literally change and change and change the smallest details in an effort to perfect them, though I never believe they are.

Q: Your bio says that you have wanted to become a writer from the age of seventeen. What did 5 year old John want to be when he grew up?

A: Hm. Five-year old John wanted to be an astronaut. I think. But if we move forward a bit and ask what seven-year-old John wanted to be, then that would be a professional baseball player. Baseball is still easily my favorite sport to watch, attend, and keep up with. I’ve loved it since I started playing at the early age of seven.

Q: Is Andrew Banks inspired by anyone in your life or is he purely fiction?

A: Andrew Banks is John Guillen. We’re one in the same. I kind of copied authors who came before me in that my debut novel is somewhat biographical when it comes to the main protagonist. I actually think Andrew is much more funny than I am, though I’m not sure how I managed that. His relationships with the people around him is probably what I like the most about him. I can’t think of a single instance in Divided Within in which he put himself first.

Q: Is there anything in Divided Within that you would change if given the chance?

A: This is tough. This is my first book and is my baby. For me to change something now would be quite difficult for me. But I think there is one thing. When reading the book you’ll notice that I put plenty of detail into certain situations. One of which is how I describe the way in which Andrew and Sydney, his girlfriend of three years, are when getting inside the car. I think I may have put a little too much emphasis on this rather small detail. It’s not the end of the world, but it could definitely be changed.

And last by most certainly not least…

Q: Mac Book or Windows PC?

A: WINDOWS PC

Thank you again for coming by our little corner of the blogosphere. It was a blast having you. 🙂

Front Cover1

Thank you all for stopping by!

Have a great day. 🙂

One thought on “Interview with author John Guillen of Devided Within

Lemme Know What You Think

