Tour Stop+Interview: The Alchemy Series by Donna Augustine

ALCHEMY SERIES TOUR BUTTON

Welcome to my tour stop of The Alchemy Series by Donna Augustine. I also have a fact filled interview…

Interview:

How would you describe THE ALCHEMY Series to someone who has not read any of your previous work?

It’s an urban fantasy series that evolves into a dystopian. A lot of times, when I read dystopian, I want to know more about how the world came to be like that. So, with The Alchemy Series, you follow Jo from a point in time where it allows the reader a step by step view of how everything falls apart.

Which part of researching THE ALCHEMY Series was the most personally interesting to you? Were there any facts or themes that you would have liked to include, but they just didn’t make into the story?

Actually, the most fun was when I moved into the third book and stopped researching. With the first two, I was constantly researching how cells could explode or about different metals. Most of it didn’t even make the book. With Shattered, I was able to let my imagination run since it was no longer a normal world. It could be anything I wanted.

I did want to include more about the different alchemy houses and the original war. Unfortunately, it’s just too much history that isn’t relevant at this point in the story.

What are you reading right now? Are there any authors (living or dead) that you would name as influences?

I just finished Grimspace by Anne Aguirre. Great book!

I’d say Karen Moning is my single biggest influence. I love everything about her writing.

What was the book that most influenced your life — and why?

I don’t know if I’d say it was the most influential, but The Stand sticks out in my head. It was such an epic battle of good versus evil. I read it so long ago but it still stays with me. And yet, I don’t know if I personally believe in pure evil or pure good.

If you had a book club, what would it be reading — and why?

Written in Red by Anne Bishop. It’s one of my new favourite books.

How personal is your writing?

Probably too personal. Every emotionally heavy scene has a bit of me layered into it. The bad scenes can be very draining. Stephen King wrote in order to write all you needed to write was the ability to remember every scar. When you’re knee deep in painful memories to lend authenticity to your characters pain, you really understand those words.

Who designed the covers?

For better or worse, I did. It’s a bit of a hobby.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I’d toyed with either an architect or a veterinarian while I was busy writing stories for my friends.  

Do you ever write naked? 😉

Does a bra count?

Who would play you, in a film of your life?

If she were still alive, Farah Fawcett. Unfortunately, it isn’t because I look anything like her. I remember watching her in an interview. She was very quirky in a way that was very relatable.

Some quick word association: 

Food – Ice cream

Animals – Elephants

Moon/ – Tides

Flowers – Peonies

Red – Lips

Cell Phones – Texts

Ocean – Atlantic

Books – Library

Diamonds – Sparkly

Time – Not enough

Thank’s for taking the time to answer my questions J

Thank you for having me!

Series Spotlight:

keepers synopsis

Amazon (Paperback & eBook)

Barnes & Noble

keepers & Killers synopsis

Amazon (Paperback & eBook)

Barnes & Noble

shattered synopis

Barnes & Nobles

Amazon

Donna Augustine BannerABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Donna Augustine’s lifelong ambition was to become the crazy cat lady. Unfortunately, when family allergies cut short her dream of living in a house full of furries, she turned her ambitions toward writing. Combining her love of fantasy, sci-fi, horror and romance, she tries to string together interesting twists on urban fantasy.

A native of New Jersey, when she isn’t writing or over dosing on caffeine, she can occasionally be spotted in disguise at the local dog park.

Website:  Www.donnaaugustine.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Donnaaugustinebooks

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/DonnAugustine

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6604148.Donna_Augustine

5 thoughts on “Tour Stop+Interview: The Alchemy Series by Donna Augustine

Lemme Know What You Think

