Thoughtful Thursday with Reading is Fun Again: The importance of World Building

ThoughtfulThursday

 

It’s that time again 😀 – I am starting to really like this one. It’s not really a meme (yet) but I love what comes of it.

Thoughtful Thursday is a meme (kind of) hosted by Reading is Fun Again. Stop by her blog to check out her point of view on this weeks question. Plus some exciting news… She also added a linky this week!!!

This week’s thoughtful bookish question?

How important is world building for you? 
Is it more or less important than characters, plot, or something else?
I guess my answer to this question is a little complicated. I will be able to better explain it with examples.
Let’s take Fifty Shades (I picked this one cos EVERYONE knows what it’s about).
In books like the Fifty Shades Trilogy world building, to me isn’t all that important. In contemporary romance or erotic novels the stories are not about the world around them. It doesn’t really matter where the story is told, only that you are so wrapped up in these two (sometimes three heehee) characters to the point where nothing else matters. To me that is a true love story. So in times like that I couldn’t care less about the world around the people.
But on the other side of the coin we have Harry Potter (Once again cos everyone knows who and what Harry Potter is).
Could you just imagine reading Harry’s story and not being able to picture Hogwarts, and Diagon Alley AND Hogsmead? No. I cannot. So my opinion? When it comes to fantasy, Dystopian, high fantasy and the likes it is highly important that the author be able to create a world so real that I should be able to confuse it with reality. In cases such as that I want to be able to climb into the character’s world with them. I want to (basically) be able to feel the breeze against my skin, I want to smell the sour and stale air in destroyed cities. I want to get completely lost in my imagination and no matter how vivid it is it always likes being helped along by super creative and talented authors.
Anyway, that’s my two cents. What about you?
4 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday with Reading is Fun Again: The importance of World Building

  1. Interesting take! My husband and I ended up having a long conversation about the definition of world building and whether contemporary fiction novels involve world building or is it just about writing good scenes. Harry Potter definitely wouldn’t be Harry Potter without Hogwarts. 🙂

  2. I agree with you! In some cases, the world-building isn’t really that important, the characters and the actual story is. But as you said, in fantasy and dystopians there has to be some good world-building, because if not, there is no use to actually read on. If the world-building is confusing in those, I just can’t even get the story. Because why do things happen the way they do?

    In some romances, though, I have to admit that I might enjoy myself even more if there is world-building that is well thought out as well. I know that the romance and the chemistry between the characters is the most important, but I enjoy to get to know where they are and what surrounds them anyway. But in those, the world-building definitely takes the back seat.

    Great post, Angelique 🙂 I hope you’re having a terrific Thursday!

Lemme Know What You Think

