TTT: Let’s redesign us some covers!

toptentuesday

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.  This weeks topic is the top ten covers we would love to redesign.

Here is my list (In no particular order) All the images link to the Goodreads page:

Bad Vibrations by Christine Pope

 

 

So I absolutely loved this trilogy. I finished them all off in about one week flat and just feel that the cover really does not do the content justice.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

 

So because of this horrendous cover I never picked up the book. Until they changed it to the really pretty one with the butterfly in a jar. I loved the book and even though they already fixed the cover I wouldn’t mind having a crack at it myself.

Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

 

I am big on picking up books because of the cover – and this one’s cover is the reason I still haven’t read it. No matter how cute the movie was or how good an author Sophie Kinsella is.

Fanta C by Sandra Brown

 

This one isn’t so much aimed at this book as it is all the older Sandra Brown books. The covers really need a revamp. All of them. I’ll do it 😉

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

 

Now before I hear the boo’s and you all get your panties in a twist – there is absolutely nothing wrong with the covers. I loved them. They attracted me to the books in the first place. But as a diehard Potter fan I would just like to have a stab at it myself. Just a little one. Please…

Irish Rose by Nora Roberts

 

Pretty much the same as with the Sandra Brown books above… The old books all need a revamp. I love Nora Roberts’ books and they really transcend the time/age barrier. Now the covers need to catch up.

PS. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

 

Don’t get me wrong – it is a pretty cover. But to me, it doesn’t quite suite the book and where it takes you. This isn’t a book that needs a pretty cover. It needs a beautiful one.

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling

 

I Love J.K. Rowling. I mean, what Potter fan doesn’t? Which is why it hurts me to see this cover. I refuse to pick it up.

The Goddess's Choice by Jamie Marchant

 

Such an intricate, well thought out, well written book could have done with a far more fascinating cover. Do not let it put you off though. It was a great read!

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

Gatsby was a great book. Filled with light, character, colour and pazazz. This cover is not.

Anyway… These are my covers. What are yours?

37 thoughts on “TTT: Let’s redesign us some covers!

  1. Thank you so much for checking out my TTT post, yesterday! It was my first! 🙂

    Oh, my. I’ve never seen that version of Beautiful Disaster before. I’ve never read the book, but out of curiosity, did the cover revamp help its popularity? Or was its popularity the reason it got a cover revamp? You’re absolutely right, Sandra’s and Nora’s book covers need to catch up with the rest of the world! They look so dated.

    • I have no idea which came first… I have the copy with the revamped cover though. But I am thinking it got revamped because of the popularity. Jamie Mcguire is quite popular herself so think her fans would have read it regardless of the cover. Thank you for returning the favour. 🙂

  2. I say yes to all. I like the Harry potter covers, but the USA version has one huge, fat, glaring, ugly flaw. American readers deserve better than the dumbed-down title the publishers thought fit to saddle them with. You’re all smart! You can learn! You want your kids to learn! So, when you re-do the cover, please reinstate its original UK title.

  3. I agree about the Casual Vacancy cover — although I think there’s a UK version (or maybe the paperback) that’s a town skyline and is a lot better. (Still didn’t really like the book though!). I agree re Sandra Browne and Nora Roberts — sometimes those older cover just need an update!

    • Some of them have been redone – but the older books that haven’t been reprinted in about ten years are still stuck with the older covers and all though I would love to add them to my collection, I am not buying any old ass books!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Lemme Know What You Think

