Release Day Blitz: The Keepers: Sienna by Rae Rivers

Sienna Cover

So a few days ago you all saw me make a fuss over this amazing SA author going big…

Today is the release day of her new book The Keepers: Sienna. So shout out to Rae Rivers!!! As a celebration I have an excerpt and an interview to share with you all. Just Keep Reading!

synopsis

Sound good yet? Get your hands on the book here:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

excerpt

Lightning struck in the distance and a bolt of light flashed through a gap in the trees, highlighting six approaching men.

Mason’s warriors.

Sienna’s gut twisted and with quick hand movements, she sent lashes of fire their way. Their shouts of surprise ripped through the night and they scattered. Sienna responded with another round of ammunition that seemed to quicken Mason’s movements.

He tied the rope around the cat’s neck and went to the next one with another bag, repeating the movement. “There was an old witch I met recently in New Orleans,” he shouted above the noise, showing her the bag before fastening it to the third cat. “She was a friend of my mother’s and shares our vision for our kind. She gave me these three bags and I’m itching to see if they work.”

Sienna knew immediately what he meant, felt the hitch in her energy the moment the third bag touched the cat’s neck, and fought to maintain the protection spell. Ashwood. She’d never seen the debilitating herb before, but her mother had once mentioned it. Not well known, it bound a witch’s powers if placed in a triangular form around her. That and Rose Thorn were two herbs every witch dreaded.

Mason straightened, dusted off his hands and gave her a wide grin that smacked of triumph. Their gazes met across the retreating flames and she kept her back rigid, her head held high.

“You might temporarily bind my powers, Mason, but you’ve forgotten one thing,” she said with a quiet confidence, even though the circle of fire had begun to wither away.

“And what’s that, love?”

“My Keepers will come for me.”

“They don’t know where you are.”

“They will find me and they will come for me. Always.”

The long line of skeletal teeth drew together as his smile lessened. Without the grin, his tattooed deadpan expression was even more eerie, blurring the lines between the living and the dead. His black eyes settled on her with such intensity that her stomach lurched. “That’s exactly what I’m counting on.”

So now that you’ve seen what your missing on – here is some more info on the great mind behind these masterpieces.

 interview

Quick fun ones – word associations

  1. Snow – Holiday
  2. TV – Entertainment
  3. Steak – Yummy
  4. Dogs – Labrador
  5. Mars – Men (First thing that came to mind!  Think it must be from the book!)

Some laidback questions

1.                  Has the dog ever eaten your manuscript?

No, but my children have deleted a scene or two thanks to their exploring fingers!

2.                  Do you ever write naked?

Hah, no, never.

3.                  Tell me about the worst boss you ever had?

He was rude, demanding, and grumpy.  I eventually moved on and opened my own business which I’ve run ever since.

4.                  Are you team Tom or Team Jerry?

Definitely Team Jerry!

5.                  What is your most embarrassing situation?

My bridesmaids planned a very interesting bridal shower that had me blushing for weeks afterwards!

Now let’s dig deep.

1.                  How close are the characters in Keeper’s series to the people in your life?

There are some conversations that I have with people in my life that spark ideas for dialogue in my books, but the Keeper characters are completely a figment of my imagination.

2.                  Do you have any formal teaching – did you study literature?

I’m a qualified teacher, although I haven’t taught for a while.  As for any formal writing training – other than the English I covered during school and university, I haven’t attended any writing workshops, courses or classes.  My ability to write stems from a love of storytelling and hours spent scouring the internet for advice on improving my craft.  I’m still learning!

3.                  What was the most demeaning thing said to you as a writer?

Nothing definite comes to mind, although my path to becoming a published author has been a long process and not always an easy one.  There has been a lot to learn, several highs and lows, and there have often been times when I’ve been so discouraged that I’ve wanted to shelve the dream.  But my characters would never allow that as they want their stories told!  I’ve been very fortunate in that the authors and editors I’ve worked with in the last year have all been incredibly supportive to me and have helped me get to where I am now.

4.                  What is the loveliest thing you have ever seen?

Oh, wow, that’s hard to narrow it down to one thing.  Personally, the first glimpse of my beautiful babies at birth are moments I’ll always treasure.  Professionally, seeing all my covers for the Keeper series in an email from my editor was a lovely, lovely moment for me!

5.                  Do you have any advice for other South African authors out there, trying to make it?

When starting this process many years ago, I felt that as a South African author writing in the romance industry, I’d never achieve my dream.  I felt so far away from where the publishing action was happening.  I now have a publisher in New York and one in the UK – and communication is easier than ever thanks to the technology the way it is.  I’d definitely recommend using this tool by connecting to online writing groups (we have a fabulous writing group in SA called ROSA), and joining the social media world of Twitter, Facebook etc.  Connecting with authors has been the biggest step in me achieving my writing dream.  Not only have they given me links to publishers, recommendations etc. but they’ve been my personal cheerleaders along this tricky route.  And most importantly, don’t ever stop writing or reaching for that dream!

I’d really love to hear from South African authors and readers so please do be in touch!

author bio

Author Links

Facebook

Goodreads

Pinterest

Twitter: @raerivers1

 

3 thoughts on “Release Day Blitz: The Keepers: Sienna by Rae Rivers

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything written by a South African author – oops! I shall have to remedy this. Loved the extract: what will happen when the Keepers arrive I wonder? Your question about writing attire left me contemplating a bucket list of interesting writing situations which I just might have to write! Lol. 🙂 Great blitz guys, thanks. I’ll watch out for this series.

Lemme Know What You Think

