Tour Stop: Going Under by S. Walden

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00071]

Whoohoo time for the Going Under tour stop. Going Under was written by the amazing S. Walden and was absolutely awe inspiring. Stay tuned for review, interview and Giveaway. J

synopsis

Author: S.Waldon

Where did I get the book: From Xpresso Book tours for the purposes of an honest review and in connection with the book tour. The tour schedule can be found here.

My Rating: 4 Bookworms

My Review:

Brooke is broken. She feels guilty and like absolute dirt. Not only did she sneak around with her best friends boyfriend but she failed to be there for her friend in her darkest hours. After Beth’s suicide Brooke is determined to get even. To make up for all her past mistakes. No matter who has to fall in the process, including herself.

This was an amazing story. It was so well written and described but in such a manor as to not make it to graphic to read and still enjoy. The story has impact and oomph. It has such a great story line to it that it is impossible to find it lacking in any way. As someone that shies away from sexual violence in fiction I found this in no way ‘too much to handle’.

Brooke is a great character. She is flawed and has issues, but still works her damndest to overcome them. She makes the best out of a shitty situation and builds a really close relationship with her dad while she is at it. She makes mistakes and works through it – albeit a bit reluctantly. She has a great support system that makes life just that little bit easier.

I honestly highly recommend this as a must read to all woman. We need to wake up and realise that this is out there. We need to be strong, and voice our fears and problems. Don’t keep quiet. No matter what happened in your past no one deserves it. Speak up. Stand strong.

Giveaway for 3 lucky winners – signed books and t-shirts! Enter here:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

interview heading

1.       What inspired you to start writing?

I don’t think any one thing in particular inspired me to start writing. I think I’ve always had an affinity for it. I like to tell stories, and I discovered that I wasn’t so bad at telling those stories on paper. My husband says that this is because I have a romantic spirit. I guess that’s why my sentences tend to be lyrical and longwinded, but my editor is pretty good about fixing that. J

2.       When did you first put pen to paper?

Probably in elementary school, but I got really serious about writing when I was fourteen. Writing provided a means of escape for me. High school was tough. I never felt like I fit in, so I wrote a lot. I think I started about a million novels, but never finished any of them. I didn’t complete my first novel until 30. So yeah, it took a while to see a project through to completion, but it eventually happened.

3.       Do you have any advice for someone who wants to become a published writer?

Oh, yes I do! But I couldn’t possibly type it all here. So to go with what’s most important? 1. Write what’s important to you. Don’t fall into the trap of just trying to make money. Readers will pick up on that in your writing and feel slighted. 2. Get a professional editor to clean up your work. Do not act as your own editor unless you want people talking trash about the poor grammar and typos in your book. 3. Prepare yourself for a lot of long hours and hard work. Writing is no 9 to 5 job. It’s around the clock. It’s your business, and if you want your business to be successful, you’ve gotta work. Constantly. 4. Have fun with it. It’s a roller coaster ride. You’ll experience extreme highs and extreme lows. Focus on the good things and ignore the negativity. Remember, you’re writing for you.

4.       Is there a message in your book that you would like readers to grasp?

Hmm. I hesitate to say that I write stories to teach lessons or pass along messages. I’m much more interested in presenting my readers with stories that force them to come to their own conclusions or glean from the novel the messages they want. I’m all about Reader Response. Not too interested in forcing my own morals and ideals down peoples’ throats. So no. I didn’t set out to write Going Under with a particular message in mind. But I did write the story with the intention of providing hope to my readers.

5.       If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Going Under?

No. Way. I worked my ass off on that book! J And that really is the truth. I’m amazed by those writers who can churn out books every other month. I’ll never be one of those because the process for me takes a massive amount of time. From development of plot and characters to the small revisions (and when I say “small revisions” I’m talking minutiae), it takes a long time to create a story and get it ready for readers. And readers deserve as close to perfection as possible, so I work really hard to give them that. Once a book of mine is ready for publication, it’s at a point where I’m pretty damn happy with every single sentence.

6.       If you could work with any other successful author, who would it be?

Well, he’s deceased, but I’d choose W. B. Yeats. He’s my favorite poet, and he was an interesting man who lived in constant turmoil. He was a man torn by his ideals, his religion, his country. I’d really just like him to give me a few poetry lessons and then write one with me. That’d be the ultimate.

7.       Are there any authors that you admire especially?

Tons—many of them authors of classic literature. I’m a huge Thomas Hardy fan. I love William Faulkner though I suspect no one understands any of his novels (even the experts!). I know I don’t. I appreciate authors whose writing techniques show a mastery of skill in syntax. I mean, anyone can write sentences that convey love—the easiest being “I love you.” But how many writers can say it like Daphne du Maurier in Rebecca: “the infinitesimal pricks of day by day brush one but lightly and are soon forgotten, but then–how a careless word would linger, becoming a fiery stigma, and how a look, a glance over a shoulder, branded themselves as things eternal.” You just can’t get it better than that, and you’re hard pressed to find writing like that in contemporary fiction. So those are the authors who inspire me the most because that’s the kind of writing I want to achieve.

8.       If you could be any colour, which would you be?

Green because it’s pleasant to the eye. And because I always hope to stay young at heart. I don’t want to know too much. Makes one jaded. 🙂

9.       Have you ever read or seen yourself as a character in a book or a movie?

Ha! I’m not nearly that vain. 🙂 But I do infuse aspects of my personality into my characters. Can’t help it. Writers write what they know.

Thank you so much for having me! xo

Like what you’ve seen so far? Get the book here, here and here J :

Amazon

B&N

author bio

6475976Author Links:
Website

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Happy Blogging

6 thoughts on “Tour Stop: Going Under by S. Walden

Lemme Know What You Think

