Tour Stop: Dead Living by Glen Bullion

So I read my first REAL zombie book this weekend. I am not ashamed to admit that I am a scaredy cat when it comes to all things zombie. So I thought it was time I stepped out of my comfort zone and try something new. Which I now have.

Dead Living  by Glenn Bullion is a Zombie/Horror story of note. Before we get to the review lets share some more about the book shall we?

Adobe Photoshop PDFSynopsis (Cover links to Goodreads page)

It didn’t take long for the world to die. And it didn’t take long, either, for the dead to rise.
Born on the day everything ended, a world filled with the walking dead is the only one that Aaron knows. Kept in seclusion, his family teaches  him the basics. How to read and write. How to survive.
Then Aaron makes a shocking discovery. The undead, who desire nothing but flesh, ignore him. It’s as if he’s invisible to them.
The survivors of the old suburb of Lexington call a high school their home. They live day to day, without any of the luxuries mankind used to enjoy. Samantha is a product of the new world. Alone, cold, looking out only for herself. She and the other residents of Lexington feel their hope dwindling. They need change. They need someone who can face the corpses. They need someone who can live in a city of the dead.
They need Aaron.

Author Bio:

I live in Maryland with my wonderful wife and four cats. I love gaming, computer technology, movies, and of course, reading and writing. I love science fiction and especially horror and the paranormal. Ghosts, vampires, werewolves, zombies, anything supernatural, all beautiful subjects.
I’ve been writing since I was twelve years old. There’s just something about creating a story that I like. I always try come up with something that hasn’t been done, or is unique in some way. It could be someone with demonic powers, or something much more simple, such as a person that zombies ignore. It’s fun to create a character, give him or her a personality and background, and watch them evolve through a story.
I’ve tried other subjects, but always drift back to horror and paranormal. There’s a reason why we keep going back to horror movies and books, why they’ve made fifty Friday the 13th movies. People like to be scared, but more than that, I think paranormal and horror stir the imagination like nothing else. We’re all just a little nervous to open that closet door at midnight, or look under the bed.

Links:

Website

Goodreads

Facebook

Author: Glen Bullion

Release date: 7 January 2013

My rating: 5 Bookworms

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and for the purposes of this book tour.

My Review:

 So like I previously mentioned – this was my first full on Zombie/Horror book. I started reading it before being picked up for work on Saturday morning. Went to work and was freaked out for the rest of the day. Kept on expecting to hear news broadcast about some people eating other people and seeing zombie like creatures walk past my window at work. Such was the amazing ability of the author when he described the first day of the end of the world.

Aaron (our very hunky sounding hero – and yes a girl can still swoon in a zombie covered world) is invisible to the zombies. For some reason they don’t feel the urge to sink their very gross teeth into him. Yay for us. Sam is part of a big community of people that have managed to keep themselves safe from the ever increasing number of undead walking around out there. However things are starting to go down hill a bit. Resources aren’t so easily available 23 years after it all ended. Enter Aaron. Will he be able to save them or are they all doomed to walking the earth as the creapy undead.

I will admit in the beginning I was a little peeved with the characters. There are so many zombie movies and books out there that just about everyone in the world should know by now what a zombie is and what they eat for breakfast, lunch and supper. So imagine my frustration when these people watch the news about random folks just biting other people and all they want to do is help the random biting folks. If it was me? I would run the other way and not look back. However slowly but surely you kind of get into the swing of things and it become ever increasingly clear that Joe (Aaron’s dad) is just the kind of person to give a helping hand where he can.

I loved each and every one of the characters, even Garrett and Ray (our resident bad guys). They were so well described and easy to imagine that I almost felt myself punching Garrett (or maybe even kicking him where he will feel it the most). It was incredibly fun watching Sam (that’s Samantha to you) slowly crawl out of the REALLY BIG shell she had climbed under. I loved that everyone didn’t get there happy ending (not telling who) and I loved that some people did. Oh, and i really enjoyed all the little plot twists. Just as you think things are starting to look up things go haywire and your back on the edge of your seat.

So really, from someone that shies away from any kind of undead fiction, I have now been made a fan for life. Yay Glen Bullion!

Giveaway time folks! Mr Bullion is hosting a giveaway for 3 copies of Dead Living.  All you have to do is enter the giveaway here.

And just in case you don’t win your very own copy you can get them here:

Amazon

B&N

 

2 thoughts on “Tour Stop: Dead Living by Glen Bullion

  1. Lol great review! I really want to read this one I like the premise and idea of him being immune. It also sounds like it has great character building which is a must for me to enjoy zombie books!

Lemme Know What You Think

