Review: The Hunger Games

2767052

 

Synopsis as per Goodreads (Cover links to goodreads page):

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning? 
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. 
Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender.
If she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Author: Suzanne Collins

Where did I get it: Courtesy of The Book Polygamist!

My Rating: 5 Bookworms!!!5 worms

Would I recommend it: Does a bear poo in the woods?

My Review:

So, I was waiting to read this book for ages. Years. Like forever. I didn’t wanna watch the movie, cos I haven’t read it yet. And then I didn’t wanna watch the movie cos someone told me it was rubbish. And then I was bored and watched the movie and fell in love with it. And Then I entered a competition on The Book Polygamist’s blogeversary and I won the book! So here I am finally joining the fabulous world of the Dystopian genre (yes this was my first).

Katniss is my type of hero. She is tough, badass and completely able to kick just about anyone’s ass, including her own. She is fully aware how completely imperfect she is and completely unaware how absolutely alluring she is.

And Peeta. Oh dear Peeta. I have been told by more then one person I might change to team Gale after I read Catching Fire, and that may be the case. BUT at this moment I am completely in love with him. They do not do him enough justice in the movie, what so ever.

After finally reading this I can admit that I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately. I have mostly been reading a lot of indie and self published authors. Which rocks in its own way – but a lot of these authors haven’t really gotten that perfect story written yet and it was so refreshing to read one again. I found it insanely hard to put this book down. Read it from start to finish without picking up another book (which I haven’t done in quite some time either).

Enough waffling – Ms Collins managed to create an excellent setting and did some pretty rad world building. The characters were so colourful and well rounded. The setting so detailed and exciting. And the content was crazy nail biting.

A bloody brilliant book by an amazingly attentive author. Pick it up. Well worth it.

18 thoughts on “Review: The Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. I need to read this too, although mostly because I’m curious about all the hype. I liked the movie though. However, I am not a fan of Peeta (and why is his name spelt like that?) – he just seemed pretty lame in both looks and personality when she has a best friend like Gale.

    • Haha, I guess its all personal choices, but in the book he is so self sacrificing and selfless when it comes to her that it’s impossible for me not to have fallen for him!

  3. Glad you enjoyed it after what sounds like a long wait!!! Why is everyone Team Peeta though? God, I hate Peeta, he is so useless. Team Gale all the way 😛

    • Haha, I don’t know? Maybe’s cos he is really sweet? I haven’t gotten to know Gale yet so my choice is very uninformed at the moment. I will fully decide once I have finished all 3.

  4. I got stuck at that part “Does a bear poo in the woods?” Well, I would assume so, but I have never personally see a bear poo in the woods. What if the bear is in a zoo? Then he does not poo in the woods but a zoo. Ah, the mysteries of life.

    Erm… Anyways, glad you enjoyed The Hunger Games! I haven’t read it in forever, but I know I loved the books when I read them! I’m assuming you’ll read the sequels then? Hope you enjoy them as well!

    • Haha thanks, I am already working on Catching Fire.
      And the bear in the woods thing? It’s something we say in our family. We just use a less PG version of the word poo

Lemme Know What You Think

