Review: Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Synopsis courtesy of Goodreads (Cover links to page): 11505797

INTENSE. DANGEROUS. ADDICTIVE.

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match

 

Synopsis courtesy of Goodreads (Cover links to page): 15745950

Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster

Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

Author: Jamie McGuire

Where did I get the book: I borrowed #1 from the Library and then I bought both of them!

Rating: DRUMROLL… 1;2;3;4;5 Bookworms!5 worms

Would I recommend it: Does the sun rise in the east and set in the west??

Review:

So seeing as these two go hand in hand and really are the same story I though I would review them together, and then I thought that won’t do both of then justice so I compromised.

Abby is stubborn, pigheaded and very full of shit. She is bitchy and cranky and oh so set in her ways. Until her best friend America takes her to an underground fight ring and she gets covered in blood by the Really Sexy Travis. Travis is conviced that Abby is his Pigeon. That one in a million girl that is so worth fighting for. Now if only Travis can convince Abby, and himself that he is no longer the jerk he used to be.

So Beautiful disaster is all about Abby and what she goes through with Travis. Its written from her point of view and pretty much all her feelings. I’ve read many books similar to this (bear with me okay…). From the first person narrative, first person being a girl/woman. SO this is what I am going to do. I am going to review BD and Abby and then I will do WD and Travis and then I will do both of them together. My Compromise.

Abby is one of those girls that I really love reading. Beautiful without realising it. Unaware of her charms and just how attractive she is. Completely shocked when people start paying attention to her. Jamie McGuire created such an easy to love character that is full of flaws and imperfections. She really can’t see that Travis is falling in love with her, purely because she really cannot see anyone falling in love with her. She is blind as a bat when it comes to noticing the things going on around her, especially Travis’ very lame attempts at telling her how he feels. And then, when they finally move past it and get together she becomes even more of an idiot. I had such a huge grin on my face reading this book. I read until 3am and then woke up sick as a dog. Where I continued to read some more.

Now for Trav. Oh. My. Word. Flaws and all I would kill to have someone like him. So completely loyal and devoted to his friends and family. Well those select few he classifies as friends. When I picked up Walking disaster and read the prologue I burst into tears. This for me, was a first. Never before has a prologue moved me to tears. And this, my dear readers was only the beginning. Completely opposite to the first one – I have never read a first person POV from a guy’s perspective (I tried once but that’s a different story). It was so refreshing and cute. And heart breaking. Oh so heartbreaking. The whole time through the book (even though I already knew what was going to happen thanks to BD) I was rooting for him. Going through his highs and lows. Cringing at his idiot moves and celebrating his joys with him. I completely and utterly fell in love with Travis Maddox and am more then willing to fight Abby for him.

As a series, this was BARILLIANT. A very clever idea doing one story from two view points. Their love story, from up to down and back up again was so heart warming and actually rather easy to believe. The character building, not just for Abby and Travis, was amazingly complex. Mare and Shep were two really fun characters and I found myself rooting for them just as much as Abby and Travis.

Final Verdict: If you do not read this book, you will be missing out. Buy it, borrow it, read it. Then share it. That’s just my two cents.

15 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. Pingback: Book Boyfriend Battles #1 through #4! VOTE NOW!! | Mel, Erin & Regina Read A Lot

  2. Pingback: Book Review : 33. Walking Disaster by by Jamie McGuire | Sporadic Reads

  3. Pingback: Beautiful Disaster | Off The Wall

  4. Great review. I read Beautiful Disaster last year and I think you covered it all! I didn’t know that the author had written the same story from the male’s point of view, I will definitely need to read it. Since you enjoyed this book you should look into “Slammed” then “Point of Retreat” by Colleen Hoover. Similar overall idea, AND the author of “Beautiful Disaster” reviewed it herself saying, ““Colleen Hoover’s second novel is just as brilliant and entertaining as Slammed. Point of Retreat is absolute poetry.”

  5. Pingback: Sporadic Reads | 33. Walking Disaster by by Jamie McGuire

  6. Pingback: Walking Disaster by Jaime McGuire | reading past my bedtime

  7. Pingback: Jamie McGuire Spin-Off!! | Between The Pages

  8. Great review. I immediately went to my library’s website to place a hold on the book. I’m number 27 in line. 😦 Ugh, maybe I will have to buy it. I’m not a fan of waiting. -RB Austin

Lemme Know What You Think

