TTT #9 Books that surprised or fell flat.

TTT button image

Yes, yes I am very well aware that I have now posted another meme. It’s TTT. Sue me. I am doing it a bit early as I won’t have the time to do it tomorrow.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks Top Ten is : Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

  1.                      The Night Circus. Yes, yes I have added this one on VARIOUS TTT lists. It’s good. Really good. When I received it from a friend she told me that I just have to read it. I am always, as a rule, really sceptical about highly recommended books. I tend to go into them with really low expectations. I was greatly surprised.
  2.                     Fifty Shades Trilogy. Like seriously. Another case of everyone raving about it. Made me all Bleh about it. Then a friend, that doesn’t read by the way, told me she had started reading it and was enjoying it. I just had to pick it up. Fully expecting to feel really bad after reading it. Not the case. Christian fan for life.
  3.                     The Eighty days Trilogy. I read so many blurbs that said it was the next Fifty Shades. I was sooooo looking forward to it. I hated it. I couldn’t even make it past the first book. Thank goodness I did not shell out for the entire trilogy like I had planned too. I literally forced myself to finish the book.
  4.                    Lord of the Rings. I only started the first one. Was just before the first movie came out. Was so excited. I couldn’t make it past the first third of the book. I have since then vowed to try and read it again. I shall do it. Someday. Maybe.😛
  5.                     Boob Envy. This is a non fiction/auto biography. If you know me at all, you know I don’t read either. Ever. But the author approached me for a review. It was so heart warming, sincere and at times laugh out loud funny. It was all about the author’s struggle with breast cancer and the issues that go along with it. Get it. Seriously.
  6.                    The Last Sin Eater. I read this one right after finishing another Francine Rivers (Leota’s Garden). She is an amazing author. I loved all of her books. Except this one. I was not a fan. Nothing specific wrong with it. Just didn’t enjoy it.
  7.                     The Fallen series. I have some crazy mixed feelings about this. I loved Fallen. After dreading reading it for weeks I so enjoyed it. Which then made me look forward to Torment. Which I really wasn’t such a big fan of. It was, you know, Okay. Not bad.  Just Okay.
  8.                    Okay I am cheating a bit with this one. I am currently reading Jessie by Lori Wick. I read the first two books in the series, titled Casey and Sabrina. I loved the first two but dreaded the third one. It’s about rediscovering old love. Which I am quite strangely not a fan of. I much more enjoy reading about new love etc. But I am really enjoying this one. I look forward to doing the review🙂.

TTT

Well that’s it this week. I am a little bit stuck to make ten. I don’t tend to read books that I think I won’t enjoy so that’s a bust. And then I really know what I like so I mostly seem to enjoy what I pick out. It is very rarely that I am disappointed with a book.

Which books disappointed you and which pleasantly surprised you?

50 thoughts on “TTT #9 Books that surprised or fell flat.

  1. Same here for the Night Circus – such beautiful, vivid imagery. Though I didn’t really connect with any of the characters – I liked the twins and Celia, but it was like rather than love. I gave up on the Fallen series after the second book, but I must admit, I then went and read just the end of Book 4 because I wanted to know what happened. 🙂

  2. I have similar feels regarding 50 Shades. And also the Fallen series. With 50 Shades I spent most of the time waiting for it to blow me away and now a year later – I’m still waiting. It’s not a bad book – I’ve read worse. But I don’t get why so many people are gaga over the series.

  3. Yes for The Night Circus! The Hobbit was a lot more readable than Lord Of The Rings. Seeing the movies first made it slightly more readable than it would have been otherwise, but it took me a few reads before I started liking it.

  4. Did you get stuck in the Tom Bombadil part? I had to read that section four times, at least, and started the entire book over once. Once I got through the odd Tom bit, the rest went much more smoothly. After getting through Fellowship, the rest of the trilogy was no problem! (Anyway, all of this is just my way of saying that you should definitely try again!) And I LOVED The Night Circus!❤

  5. I can’t wait to read The Night Circus. I got it for Christmas, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. It’s definitely moving up the pile though. I’ve heard so many people rave about it – hopefully I will like it as much as everyone else does.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. I haven’t read any of these books but your thoughts on 50 shades have me intrigued. It’s interesting that you couldn’t make it to 10, I had a very similar problem. I kept thinking ‘why would I read a book I thought I was going to dislike only to be surprised?’ Or, on the flip side ‘of course I liked these books, that’s why I picked them to read’. So I stared at my bookshelf for a very very long time in order to compile my list.

    – Annette

    • I know, it sounds horribly vain saying this, but I know what I like and what I don’t like. So why would I read something on the off chance that I might like it. I only do that if a book comes highly recommended by a friend who has similar tastes. I’m fussy like that!

  7. I actually haven’t heard of most of the series in your list except for Fifty Shades (it wasn’t my cup of tea) and LotR (YAY <3)! I'm a bit slow with reading the books, but I liked the movies so I really want to get through it!

  8. Haha the only reason I made it through the Lord of the Rings was because my parents told me I wasn’t allowed to watch the movies until I’d read all the books. I don’t remember a word of them, all I remember are the movies. Which is fine with me, since the movies are fantastic.

    • I will make a confession. I haven’t even watched the movies. I was so disappointed with the written work that I couldn’t get myself to watch the movies.
      Thanks for dropping in!

  9. I agree with the Fifty Shades! I don’t really see that much wrong with it all, Christian is so dark tall and handsome!

    sv: That is very true! I am thinking about putting it on my re-read list to give it another chance, because I like the concept of it.

  10. It took me three tries to get through the series myself, and I skimmed through all the poem/song passages. I know it’s a great series, but it’s just not me. Glad to hear I’m not the only one!

    Oh, and I also agree with you on The Last Sin Eater. Normally I love her books, but that one was, er, not her best work…

  11. I do love the LOTR books. Probably the 2nd was the hardest for me to get throught, but I’m glad I did! I enjoyed the 50 Shades books too, much to my surprise! Today is a good lesson in how smart people can have such different opinions about the same books.🙂

  12. I still need to read The Night Circus! I’m looking forward to getting to it.

    I have had the same thing happen to me with Lord of the Rings. I keep thinking it should be something I love but I’ve only read the first quarter of the first book. Life kind of got in the way and then I forgot where I was… I too intend to revisit it though😀
    Great list!

    Lauren x

  13. Heck yes for The Night Circus! Such a great book and definitely worth every positive thing said about it. I haven’t read Fifty Shades, but can’t see myself ever picking it up. Glad it was good for you though!

    Ooh and I own Fallen but haven’t read it yet. It seems that most people don’t like the series overall though. I might just try to read the first book and not finish the rest, just to avoid liking it and then being disappointed. We’ll see how it goes though!

Lemme Know What You Think

