Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

tumblr_m16y562Apx1r48yrro1_500

 

So I read this blog post on Alexandra’s Scribblings today and it got me to thinking.

Why do we sometimes feel the need to completely break ourselves down and destroy our own self worth but when it comes to other people we find it so hard to see the flaws. I am a serious sufferer of low self esteem. I hate the way I am built, my skin, my nose, my hair and my facial structure. I detest the sound of my voice and the way I completely lose a grip on reality sometimes.

Yet, I have no trouble in pointing out to my friends how absolutely perfect they are. How jealous I am of their curves (WAIT! Don’t I have curves??). How great their hair looks and excellent their dress sense is. Why do we feel this way? Honestly I don’t have the foggiest. I do however know a little bit of a cure and thought I would share it with all of you.

To quote myself: “Stop looking in the mirror to see what your not. Start looking to see what you are.”

Stop seeing the fact that your not a size 4. Or that you don’t have fantastic skin. Start looking deeper and see that you have the most unique eye colour. That your hair curls in a way that other girls would die for. Maybe you have really sexy legs or extremely graceful hands. When your done with that look even deeper. See the insanely talented person that manages to write blog posts every week while juggling work and a family life. See that person that bakes the best darn brownies in the country.

I know I really shouldn’t talk since I still have a huge amount of my own issues to work with, I just really wanted to share this with everyone.

20 thoughts on “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

  1. Isn’t it strange the way we all see each other so differently? Sometimes I think it would be fascinating to be able to see myself from my mother’s perspective, or my best friend’s perspective, so that I could see those things that they see and love about me.
    I really do like your quote. I think what I am is creative and trusting and a really good writer. That’s what I want to see.
    But all my thoughts are tangled up together at the moment. You know, I’ve been thinking about it, and I can’t figure out whether I want to see myself as beautiful just as I am, or whether I’d rather let go of all that and just be – if that’s even possible? What I should be aiming for. *sighs* I think maybe I’m overthinking this. But that’s another one of the things that makes me, me. 😛
    Also, I think you can write about this so passionately BECAUSE these are issues you’re working with. So you definitely should be talking about it.
    (and thanks for linking me!)

    • I know what you mean. I wish I could just see me as others see me for one day. To hear what others think of me for one day.

      Thanks for dropping by! And always remember… Your BEAUTIFUL

  2. 🙂 Excellent post. I don’t understand why people want to underplay themselves. I mean sure, don’t go giving yourself a scary ego or anything, but you can totally build your confidence, nothing wrong with that! Those brownies sure do sound fine!

Lemme Know What You Think

