Review Black Moon by Jessica McQuay

16005072

 

Synopsis as per Goodreads:

“Am I losing my mind?”

Paige couldn’t help but question her sanity. What other explanation could there be for her hearing a conversation held barely above a whisper in the back of a classroom full of students? What about coming home to find one of those very classmates lying in wait in the darkness of her home, ready to attack her?

Confused, frustrated and feeling every ounce of her social ostracism, Paige confides in the one person she’s always been able to count on: her mom. But when her mom reveals a deeply rooted, unbelievable family secret, Paige discovers her world is filled with more than she ever imagined possible. A world where fairytales live alongside nightmares and secrets are the glue that binds them together. Suddenly no one is who they seem and Paige is faced with more questions than answers. Can she survive in a world filled with creatures scarier than anything she could imagine and where deceit runs as thick as blood? Or will the truth send her over the edge?

Author: Jessica McQuay

Where did I get the book: From the Author.

How do I rate the book: 4 Bookworms 4 worms

Do I recommend it: Yup!

My Review:

The Good:

Paige is an amazing character. She seems to be all good. She doesn’t keep grudges. She learns how to cope with everything thrown at her at a remarkable pace. Her closest friend is her mother. As I have the same type of relationship with my mom I really dig this. I loved the originality of Jessica McQuay’s writing. It was a fresh change from some of the work  I have been reading lately.

The Not So Good:

I had some trouble getting into the book initially. I had to pick it up a few times before getting into the book. That said, once I really got started it didn’t disappoint. It is a great opening for the sequel and I look forward to reading future books in the series and by the author. I also would have liked to be notified (maybe in the synopsis) about the notions toward a same sex relationship. I do not mind reading it but felt a bit shocked when I happened upon it. After the initial shock wore off it was well written and rather above board.

The Great:

Jessica managed to create such a rich and vibrant book. Once immersed in the book I was lost to the world. I found myself transported to the world of fae and supernatural beings. You really couldn’t help but like Naialah. She is brave and sexy and easily likable.  One can easily start thinking about what will happen next and where the next book will take us and Paige.

It was a fantastically fun read.

2 thoughts on “Review Black Moon by Jessica McQuay

Lemme Know What You Think

