Top Ten Tuesday #5 The books I recommend

TTT button image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This weeks Top Ten is : Top Ten  Books I Recommend The Most

 

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This book was recommended to me. Even given to me by a friend to read. Still it lay on my bookshelf for ages before I picked it up. When I finally got to it I couldn’t believe it took me so long to get to it. Now, on just about every relevant TTT post I put this one on this list. Therefore DUH.
  2. If Tomorrow Comes by Sydney Sheldon. I read this book while still in school. Yeah it isn’t really all that young teen appropriate but my reading tastes have always been more similar to that of my mums (it was way cheaper to read her books then to buy my own).
  3. The Inheritance Cycle (yeah I am cheating. Who cares) by Christopher Paolini. It is a HUGE undertaking. But it is very much worth it. Please keep in mind that you will need a few months to get through them due to small breaks taken between books. It gets a bit much by number 4.
  4. Hearth: Exile by MR Jenks. This is a book I did for a review a few weeks back. I was just starting out on the book bloggers journey through the world of read to review when I stumbled on Matthew and his book. It was such a thrilling read. Quite a big surprise.
  5. MacGregor Series by Nora Roberts. Once again I picked the entire series because it is just impossible to pick on of them. It is a HUGE series. You don’t have to read them all but I can pretty much guarantee that once you read one of them  your just going to carry on with the rest of them.
  6. Sunset Embrace by Sandra Brown. Firstly let me say, I am finding it hard to only recommend one Sandra Brown as she is one of my favourite authors of all time. Sunset Embrace is a historical fiction that brings tears to your eyes and makes you laugh with the characters. It is one of my top 5 books. Screw it. Top 3.
  7. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. It is such a touching story that leaves you with so much heartache for this poor girl. Especially if you yourself went through a stage such as that.
  8. The Boy Series by Meg Cabot. They are written in such a quaint format. In the form of emails, notes and text messages between the main characters. It made for such quick fun reads that I found myself reading until the stupid, silly morning hours with all three of them.
  9. Vampire Academy by Racheal Mede. I haven’t read the entire series yet. Still to do Last Sacrifice. It was my first introduction into YA (other then Harry Potter – cos he doesn’t seem to fall in to YA. He needs a genre all for himself).
  10. Harry Potter etc etc. All of them. Number 1 to 7, Quidditch through the ages, Tales of Beadle and the Bard. All the little supporting booklets. Now I find myself dreaming of what happens next and what happens with the kids. And I really want to try out the James Potter series!

TTT

Well there you have it, my Top Ten Recommendations to you. What do you recommend I give a try?

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #5 The books I recommend

  1. Some very very good choices! I was so sad when Christopher Paolini’s series ended but wow what an ending! I can’t wait to see what else he writes in the future. 🙂 I also loved The Boy Next Door and Harry Potter of course. 😉
    Thirteen Reasons, The Night Circus and Rachel Meed are on my to-read pile so I’m really looking forward to those!

    Happy Reading. 🙂

  2. I have also heard recently that J. K. Rowling is considering doing another fantasy series set in the “Harry Potter” world, though it wouldn’t include all the same characters as the first one (at least not the main characters).

    • Cool, that’s fantastic. And the James Potter series is written by G Norman Lippert. It is endorsed by J.K. Rowling. I have only heard good things about it so wanna give it a go at some point.
      Thanks for dropping in Matt.

      • Thank you for featuring my book on your list! Just an FYI that I’m going to try breaking Hearth and its two sequels up into Episodes and marketing them that way. It seems to be a growing trend, and as I have had no sales in over a month due to being a grain of sand on a very large large beach, I’m willing to try anything, as long as its proven to be effective! By the way, I’m not sure if you know or not, but do you think most of your subscribers are Kindlers, iPad’ers, Nookers? Also by the way, I’m intrigued by Night Circus, but I have trouble getting past the present tense point of view. It seems artificial (though I’m sure if I read further, it won’t). Happy Reading!

        • You *obviously* don’t need to thank me. I enjoyed your book and therefore recommend it to my friends :). Sounds like a good idea to market them as Episodes. I hope it will help raise some awareness on the book.
          Actually not a bad idea to find out. Maybe add a poll to the site. Will let you know when I find out. The Night Circus really does get very good. It is just hard to get into it thanks to the present tense POV as well as the jumping from one character to another. It really isn’t artificial. More intricate and complicated then anything else.
          Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I usually don’t go for vampire stories anymore, but after seeing Vampire Academy time and time again… I just might have to check it out =) And I seriously need to finish the Inheritance Cycle, maybe when I’m done with Song of Ice and Fire, cause two high-fantasies at the same time sound kind of scary…

  4. All I have to say is WHOOOOOOO VAMPIRE ACADEMY!!! It’s on a whole bunch of lists this week which is super duper amazeballs because the book is super duper amazeballs. I’ve been a giant VA advocate for years and I love seeing other people love it too!

    My Top Ten! 🙂
    ~Gabbi

  5. Oh, the Night Circus! Such a beautiful, visually rich book.
    And I love the Vampire Academy series – you’ll have to read the Bloodlines series too when you’re finished!

  6. I haven’t heard of most of these! Night Circus, Harry Potter, and Eragon/Eldest, I’ve read, and Vampire Academy is on my TBR list. But I’m going to have to check out the rest, they sound pretty good!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  7. The MacGregor series! OMG! I LOVED those books! You don’t often hear them mentioned anymore (I read them in high school) so this just made me smile a big huge giant grin. ❤

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    ~Merin @ Read and Reviewed~

  8. Ooh I’ve read some of these. Most of the lists I’ve found have made me feel so lost since I don’t know the books, but your list I understand, lol! The Night Circus is amazing, I agree with that. (Not sure why I didn’t put it on my list, should’ve since I only put 5 up.) And I feel like it’s been forever since I read Thirteen Reasons Why but if I remember right I enjoyed it.. Sometimes I like that kind of dark emotional stuff. Great list 🙂

  9. I enjoyed Eragon, but there were some *huge* issues I had with the book (the one that sticks out at me is the first time he rides the dragon and the scales shredding his thighs almost to the bone but then he hops off and is all WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE), so I didn’t read past the first book.
    I’m reading the Night Circus right now, and I’m loving it!

  10. The Night Circus is on my TBR list! I’ve had so many people recommend it to me since it’s been published (so I guess I should read that soon, lol). Love the Boy Series by Meg Cabot. And Thirteen Reasons Why, and Harry Potter, of course. Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who ended up technically recommending more than ten books. XD Great list!

    Thanks for dropping by on my TTT!

    • It really is a must read. Just a pity there aren’t any other books by her.
      And there is now way I could stick to ten. Never. As it is there is about 10 more books I wish I could add!

  11. Thirteen Reasons Why has been recommended to me before and it’s going to be a movie, but it just seems so depressing…maybe I’ll give it another shot though since it’s on your list 🙂

    • It is a bit depressing, but really touching. Not to sure if it is actually going to be a movie as that rumor has been going around for 2 years now…
      Thanks for dropping in 🙂

  12. Love the list – so many of my favourite books in it. Vampire Academy, Harry Potter, Meg Cabot – love them all!

    The Night Circus is one that I’m curious about. IT looks interesting and I’ve heard such great things about it. Thanks for the recommendation and thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  13. I’ve heard really good things about Thirteen Reasons Why so I should probably check it out! Yay for including Sydney Sheldon- I’ve read one of his books and my grandma likes him too :). Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Which one have you read? I have read quite a few of them. Sometimes they feel a bit dated but its good to go back in time every now and then!
      Thank you for returning the favour!

      • I honestly can’t remember which one it was :(. I’ve been on goodreads looking for the synopsis, but it was about three woman and one of them lost her husband. I don’t remember the story of the other two.

        I didn’t read the one my grandma has, but I know she really liked it. :). Do you read any books by Camila Lackberg or Jo Nesbo?

        • Haven’t heard of them. Nora has quite a few trilogies. Two of them that I have read are about three woman where one of them has lost their husband …heehee…
          I will check out Camila Lackbert and Jo Nesbo. Just not sure when!!! Ever felt like your drowning under books?

Lemme Know What You Think

