Top Ten Tuesday #4 Books I just HAD to buy but are now gathering dust…

TTT button image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This weeks Top Ten is : Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

Untitled

  1. Inheritance (#4 Inheritance Cycle)
  2. Destined (#9 House of Night series)
  3. Hidden (#10 House of Night Series)
  4. Last Sacrifice (#6 Vampire Academy)
  5. Devine by Blood (Parthalon #3)

You might notice with the above that they are all the last one in their respective series. This is basically because I just HAVE to have all the books. Even though sometimes I get tired of said series. I know I will get to them eventually it’s just tough with a TBR pile that reaches to the heavens!

Untitl2ed

  1. Second Thyme Around by Katie Fforde. If you have ever seen any of her books, you will understand. They have the cutest covers and I have a real weakness for cute covers.
  2. Nikki Heat series by Richard Castle. I watched the T.V. series and was so captivated by it that I just had to get it. Somehow I just have not gotten around to reading it yet.
  3. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer. Yes I read Twilight and yes I loved it. I honestly do not know why I haven’t read this one yet. I have even read ALL the other little bits of chapters and the midnight sun draft by her.
  4. The Temperance Brennen series by Kathy Reichs. Another one that I learnt of via the T.V. series – which I absolutely adore! I did start the first one once. Was a bit of a snore but I will try again.
  5. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. I still don’t know if I will read this one. It is just such a leap from Mr Potter and his gang that I am not sure if I could enjoy it. I did HAVE to buy it though.

I actually had some trouble coming up with a list this week. You see – My name is Angelique and I am a book addict. Which means I buy books. All the time. Which kind of means that I have a really big bookshelf full of books that I just HAD to buy (even though for a lot of them I don’t really have a very good reason for) and haven’t read yet. I actually have (physical) bookshelves at home that separate the ‘read’ from the ‘to read’.

I actually bought 3 books just yesterday just because they were on special. I don’t even know if I will read them. Ever. They were on special so I had to have them.

What books have been lying on your shelf that you just HAD to buy? Do we have any in common? And is there anyone else out there with my book buying binge condition?

As always Happy Blogging!

50 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #4 Books I just HAD to buy but are now gathering dust…

  1. I have to say – don’t bother with Casual Vacancy – such a disappointment for me because I LOVE Harry Potter – I want to be Hermione Granger – that world was so real to me. I knew this wasn’t going to be the same, but I was hoping for it to be just as good – even though it was going to be different – and it just wasn’t. Actually, the best parts of the books were the parts about the teenagers – maybe that’s where her real talent lies and she needs to keep away from the grown-up stuff!

  2. I need to finish the Inheritance Cycle too! I know what you mean though, sometimes you just need to take a break from a particular world, and then come back to it refreshed. It’s just a little hard with high fantasy books cause there can be sooooo many characters to keep track of, like in the Inheritance Cycle.

  3. I liked Bree Tanner more than I liked any of the Twilight books. Not sure why… probably the lack of Bella…

    I still have many of these books on my shelves and haven’t read them – I rushed out and bought The Casual Vacancy the minute it came out. And then have ignored it ever since.

    I read one of the Temperance Brennon books – it wasn’t the first but it didn’t really matter. Even without Booth – I enjoyed the story and the characters.

    I’m a huge Richelle Mead fan and if you get around to reading Last Sacrifice – it’s a great ending to the series.

  4. I’m as bad as you Angelique! I can’t say no to a book bargain and I often come back from an op-shop or charity booksale with a big pile of books that I don’t have room for, and may never read. The ones I really want to read go straight on my towering TBR pile, but other get delegated to my overstuffed bookshelf, separated from the ones I’ve read. At the moment my shelves are so full that I am planning on purchasing another rather than culling the herd, because I can’t bring myself to give away books I may one day read and adore. It’s a sickness…a glorious, wonderful sickness where I will never have nothing to read! 😛

    • I know. I just keep on scouring the secondhand shops for decent … bookcases so I do not have to get rid of any of the books. That sorted, now I need space for said bookcases.
      And then because I bought the bookcases I obviously have to go bookshopping to celebrate and make sure it doesn’t look all lonely and empty next to the other ones. You know its unfair.

  5. Bleh, I haven’t read The Casual Vacancy yet either. I tried to start it at one point, but I was sort of bored. Oh, well. I’ll get to it eventually. I liked The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. I think I read it in one sitting.

  6. I think the reason why I have so many unread books is because I keep buying the ones on sale! Seeing Inheritance on your list makes me want to finish the Inheritance Cycle.

    I didn’t love The Casual Vacancy the way I love Harry Potter, but I’m still glad I read it. Great list!

  7. Oh I want to read the Nikki Heat series too! 🙂 Make that your priority so you can tell me if its good or not! haha

  8. Oooh, I LOVE the Temperance Brennan series. The books, not the t.v. show. I don’t love Bones, probably because it’s really not like the books at all. Not every book in the series is absolutely amazing, but all of them kept me entertained.

    Good luck with your list!

  9. The House of Night series is one of my guilty pleasure series…I love it, but at the same time…the characters annoy the crap out of me. But I still continue to read them! 😀

    You might want to skip Heat Wave…it was sooooo bad. Like, terribly horribly bad. I just…stopped reading it with only 10 pages left in the book. I just couldn’t read it anymore. I think I also threw the book across the room several times. I won’t read any more of the series because of it. I have friends who have read more of the books, and they said that the rest are waaaaaay better than Heat Wave was.

    • I know what you mean about HON. Zoey is by far one of my least favourite characters and yet I still devour all the books. Until I reached my current blockade.
      Ha thanks. I will keep that in mind. Maybe move it down the ladder a few rungs.

  10. I read the first one in the Nikki Heat series and it was pretty good. It doesn’t live up to the show at all though. The Richard Castle character isn’t as awesome as he is in the show.

  11. Ooh all those books that are at the end of the series. Do you feel the need to reread all the earlier books first before reading? I usually do, which makes reading series so hard! Especially when it comes to uber-long series like Inheritance where each book is hundreds of pages long. Hopefully your memory is better than mine though and you can just read them without going back!

    I am actually half way through The Casual Vacancy right now. Obviously it’s not Harry Potter and it’s for adults, so it’s different. I’m sort of split between it. The plot itself is sort of dull just because I usually don’t read realistic fiction, but I like the story lines for the teenage characters. I think my biggest hurdle is just the fact that there’s like thirty characters in this story and my brain has a hard time keeping track. But yeah, it’s definitely… different?!

    • Yes! Yes I do! It is horrible. I HAVE to. Especially with Inheritance. Luckily I reread them about 3 months ago so they are still fresh in my mind. But the downside was, by the time I reached Inheritance I was a bit tired of Eragon and his story…
      Lemme know what you think of the Casual vacancy please!

      • I know what you mean! I’m pretty sure I started off loving the series but by the time I reread them and got to the last one I was just sort of dragging my way through it. Not sure if it was because I didn’t like the story or if I really was just worn out from it all, can’t remember!
        And yes, will let you know about The Casual Vacancy when I’m done! Hoping to get through it by the weekend. 🙂

  12. I can’t totally understand having to buy The Casual Vacancy just for the pure reason that J.K. Rowling wrote it, but I’m not really sure I’d read it either. It didn’t get the greatest reviews. We should read Inheritance at the same time to push each other to actually finish it 🙂 Haha

  13. I read The Casual Vacancy, but was not a big fan. Not because it was different from the HP books (which it was), but just because it didn’t appeal to me. Oh well, we’ll always have Harry! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  14. I haven’t read the Vampire Academy series, but I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. So I hope you enjoy the Last Sacrifice! Ohhh the cover of Second Thyme Around looks so cute! I definitely have a weak spot for beautiful/cute covers. Hope you enjoy all of your books when you get around to reading them!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

    • And thank you for returning the favour.
      I will be trying to get to them soon but last night I discovered the eighty days trilogy and was up till 1am this morning. So alas 3 books that just moved to the top of the pile.

      Sucks to be me

  15. I have so much love for the Vampire Academy series! They’re my favourite Paranomal series of all. I think you’ll love Last Sacrifice when you get there. And while I didn’t enjoy the new Rowling, I’m glad I read it anyway…
    I used to really enjoy the Kathy Reichs series – gets a little bit dry with the forensic anthropology but still really solid crime. Although they’re nothing on the show, I love Bones, probably too much ^_^
    Happy buying/reading!

  16. I think I would bury Casual Vacancy in the back yard. I tried to read that one and had to give it up after about 200 pages. I know what you’re saying about cute covers and special deals – my problem too.

  17. I’m afraid that I’ve never bought a book I haven’t read. I’ll even read the ones that I don’t find particularly interesting..heck, I read cereal boxes at breakfast so I guess I just read anything I get my hands on!

Lemme Know What You Think

