Destiny by Laura DeLuca

CoverDestiny

Synopsis as per Smashwords:

Gabriella is a witch. The problem is, she doesn’t remember. She repressed the memories of her powers years ago when her mother was murdered. Now, the warlock who was responsible for her mother’s death has set his sights on Gabriella. He is determined to use her fear to turn her to the dark side of magick…even if it kills her. Her mother’s spirit is reaching out to warn her, but even that she pushes away. Desperate to save her daughter, the spirit finds another witch–one that just happens to be in love with Gabriella. Darron is more than willing to help but the two young witches will have way more to battle than just an evil warlock. There are overbearing jocks and petty rich girls who get tempers flaring and often set Gabrielle and Darron at odds.
There is more to the story than Gabrielle and Darron could even imagine. There are terrible secrets to be revealed, battles to be waged, and lives will be lost. Only after Gabrielle and Darron both come to terms with who they really are, and open themselves up to the true meaning of magick, can they have any hope of fulfilling their destiny.

Author Bio:

Laura “Luna” DeLuca lives at the beautiful Jersey shore with her husband and four children. She loves writing in the young adult genre because it keeps her young at heart. In addition to writing fiction, Laura is also the sole author of a popular review blog called New Age Mama. She is an active member of her local pagan community, and has been studying Wicca for close to eight years. Her current works include Destiny, Destiny Unveiled, Phantom, Morrigan, Player, and Demon.

Author: Laura DeLuca
How I got the book: From the author via bloggerdise.com
How do I rate the book: 4 stars
Would I recommend it: Yes I would. If you are a YA fan you would more the likely love it.

My review:

Gabby is your everyday average teen, trying to fight her way through high school. Normal in just about every way. She doesn’t quite fit in (who does by the way?). She has a crush on the cute guy. The mean girl is bullying her, and she comes out of a not so perfect home. When all of a sudden her world comes crashing down. Now she finds out she is a witch, and is supposed to take down the big bad guy. Darron on the other hand is anything but normal. He seems to be wise beyond his years. Cold and distant, even to his closest friends. He believes this is the only way to keep his secret safe. Darron gets tasked with awakening Gabby’s powers again, and finally gets to show her his love for her. An amazing story of two souls mates, destined to be together, who once again find their ways into each other’s arms.

The Good:

Gabby has some really amazing, understanding, supportive friends. In return she herself can be pretty supportive too. I loved the bitchy fights between Gabby and Vanessa. I also enjoyed the fact that no BIG conflicts came Gabby’s way. If she were to all of a sudden be an extraordinary witch after 6 years of no practice I would have put the book down no questions asked.

The Not So Good:

No issues with the book itself. I just did not enjoy Shelly as a character. This might be because of my religion, but I felt a little bit offended by her ‘obvious’ Christianity. I myself am Christian and I would hope that I would be a bit more open minded when something like that came my way. Wasn’t a fan at how she was portrayed to be crazy. Once again this is only because of my religion.

I was also a bit disappointed by the fact that Darron’s parents didn’t play a bigger role. Not a big deal, would have just liked to see a bit more of them.

The Great:

I am a big sucker for star crossed lovers, soul mates, and destiny. This book had that in spades. I loved how specific it was in details of the craft. Yes, I am a sucker for details. Oh and I loved the twist about Darron. I won’t spoil it for you, but there is nothing better then a big twist to make it all worth while.

Darron by the way, is also a fantastically sexy character who you cannot help but fall in love with. He is strong, self reliant, really sexy and has flaws (because no one can be perfect).

I cannot wait to pick up Destiny Unveiled to find out what happens next.

Here with buy link for Destiny:

http://www.amazon.com/Destiny-ebook/dp/B0067WQCIO/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1362038559&sr=1-4

5 thoughts on “Destiny by Laura DeLuca

  1. Pingback: Review: Destiny Unveiled by Laura DeLuca | Why I Can't stop Reading

Lemme Know What You Think

