Hearth: Exile by MR Jenks

13627438

Synopsis as per Goodreads:

A man awakens to find himself half-in, half-out of a trashcan in a back alley behind the Boathouse Restaurant in Central Park, New York. He has no idea who he is, where he is, or how he got there. He doesn’t even know his own name, except that it begins with a ‘Br’ sound. In Book One of the Hearth trilogy, this man wanders the streets in search of his identity, his memories, and his name. He is joined along the way by two companions, an orphan girl named Page, and a similarly memory-challenged woman named Lauren. Together they embark on a journey across the Christmas landscape of New York City, seeking answers to an unfolding and ever-growing mystery, watched over by Sister Regina, the head of the Convent where they are staying . . . and as they begin to find answers, as they begin to discover more and more clues to Lauren and Brinn’s identities, something stalks them – an ancient and deadly Evil from before the dawn of recorded history. A clock is ticking now, and they better solve the mystery of their origins and who they are soon. For it is not just they and everyone around them who are threatened; the entire fate of humanity and of two worlds is in peril, unless they find answers, and find answers soon.

How I got the book: From the Authror… Thank you Matt!
How do I rate the book: An unbelievable 4.5 stars.
Would I recommend the book: Does the sun rise in the east???

My Review

Brinn wakes up in an alleyway, without his memory, no money in his pocket and nothing but his wits to help him in this strange city. Fighting to stay alive, sane and find his memory, you completely find yourself engrossed with his tale.

On his search I felt his elation at discovering Lauren and his despair at losing her again.

Lauren wakes up in very similar circumstances. Lost, afraid, sans memory in the middle of a Museum exhibit. Her struggles bring her to Sister Regina, Paige and their convent. Taken under their wings she starts discovering herself and some of her memories.

The Good:

The imagery is amazing. Excelent descriptions made it impossible for me not to see everything. I felt like I have now actually made a visit to the big apple myself. And as stodgy and strict as Sister Regina is, she is an amazingly complex colourful character. At times I actually felt chastened by her myself.

The Not so Good:

The only reason I could not give the book the desired 5 stars is because of the dialogue. At times I found it a bit forced and unnaturally. Once again, this is my only complaint. Now for the fun part.

The Great:

The intervals and breaks from the regular story line. I found it fascinating rounded of the story quite nicely.
Paige’s history was enlightening and frightening at the same time. I felt heartbroken that a young girl had to go through all of that and amazed that she made it through so remarkably well. And completely overjoyed when she found herself in a ‘family’ with Brinn and Lauren. No one, in my eyes deserved it more. She was by far my favourite character.

It was an amazing book, and hard to put down from the get go. Once I made it to the last few chapters of the book it became impossible to put down. Next thing I knew it was 2am, my eyes were blood shot and I myself felt a little lost and disorientated. I am super excited for the next one.

Thank you for an amazing read MR Jenks. I look forward to your future works.

Should you be interested please see the following link for an interview with the Author:

https://whyicantstopreading.wordpress.com/get-to-know-the-authors/mr-jenks-author-of-hearth-excile/

3 thoughts on “Hearth: Exile by MR Jenks

  1. Pingback: My Interview from Why I Can’t Stop Writing (AngelicReader’s site) | Fields of Play

Lemme Know What You Think

