The Gatekeeper’s Son by Eva Pohler

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00023]

Synopsis as per Goodreads:

Fifteen-year-old Therese watches her parents die. While in a coma, she meets the twin sons of Hades—Hypnos, the god of sleep, and Thanatos, the god of death. She thinks she’s manipulating a dream, not kissing the god of death and totally rocking his world.

Than makes a deal with Hades and goes as a mortal to the Upperworld to try and win Therese’s heart, but not all the gods are happy. Some give her gifts. Others try to kill her.

The deal requires Therese to avenge the death of her parents. With the help of Than’s fierce and exotic sisters, the Furies, she finds herself in an arena face to face with the murderer, and only one will survive.

How did I get this book: From the author – Read to Review.
How do I rate this book: 4 stars
Would I recommend this book: Hells yes! (pun intented)

My Review

I want to start this off by saying that I just got over a REALLY bad head cold so my opinion on the ending might be slightly skew as I was not in my right frame of mind.

The Good News:

Therese is an amazingly strong character. I have a weakness for these as you might have noticed by now. But what I really liked about it is you don’t really notice how strong in the beginning. It kind of creeps up on you. She loses her parents early on in the book and has to learn how to live with out them, which I can not really relate to (thank goodness) but I still sympathise with her.
I LURVED Hip, I know he is a womanizer and an all around dildo but he is an amazing character and so honest about himself, which was refreshing.
I have read my fair share of YA in the last few years but this was my first encounter with the Olympian gods. And this was definitely my first encounter with humanized Olympian gods. They always seemed untouchable but I found it amazing the way Eva Pohler managed to humanize them. And the story line was pretty awesome as well. Who wouldn’t want to fall in love with a Greek god right?

The not so Good:
Jen – urgh not best friend material. Really – if that was me I woulda kicked her to the kerb ages ago. But I guess she was supposed to be the pretty girl with issues.
I did not enjoy how quickly Therese fell for Than. I get he had a time limit and all that, but if that was me I would have been a little bit more cautious. He is the god of DEATH. That is a little bit freaky. BUT he is very sexy, sweet and thoughtful and everyone deserves a little love in their lives.

The Great:

The ending. I won’t spoil it for you. All I will say on this matter is that I loved how resourceful she was. Oh heck I’m gonna spoil it for you… I love that is wasn’t all that happy. I loved the fact that I get to look forward to what happens next.

No bad… Really. There isn’t anything in it that ruined it for me. Go ahead. Buy it. Read it. Rave about it.

And as always

Happy Blogging

9 thoughts on “The Gatekeeper’s Son by Eva Pohler

  1. When I’m sick it tends to change my opinions of books, movies, music too. This one sounds interesting – dreams, gods and avenging heroine? I think I’m going to have to check it out. Great review.

  2. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. If you choose to accept, the award info will be up on my blog shortly. I appreciate your reviews and your varied literature choices.

    • Thank you so much for the kind thought. I have very recently been nominated for this award, so will unfortunately not be participating again.

      Thank you so much though. 🙂 It is nice to feel appreciated.

  3. Just out of curiosity I clicked on the Look Inside link for The GateKeeper’s Sons to read through the first few chapters, and I was blown away! I have only read a few ebooks out of many (too many to count) that combine characterization, description, action, and even brief flashbacks so well. The author has a maturity of writing and a command of story that is very rare to see in an ebook writer nowadays. I will definitely put this book on my To Read List. Whether with this title or one in the near future, Eva Pohler is destined for the Bestseller Lists! (and I’m a guy saying this – :O). I’ve rarely been this impressed with an e-book.

Lemme Know What You Think

