The Night Circus

Cover ARt

Cover ARt

Synopsis as on Goodreads

In 1886, a mysterious travelling circus becomes an international sensation. Open only at night, constructed entirely in black and white, Le Cirque des Rêuves delights all who wander its circular paths and warm themselves at its bonfire.

Although there are acrobats, fortune-tellers and contortionists, the Circus of Dreams is no conventional spectacle. Some tents contain clouds, some ice. The circus seems almost to cast a spell over its aficionados, who call themselves the rêuveurs – the dreamers. At the heart of the story is the tangled relationship between two young magicians, Celia, the enchanter’s daughter, and Marco, the sorcerer’s apprentice. At the behest of their shadowy masters, they find themselves locked in a deadly contest, forced to test the very limits of the imagination, and of their love…

A fabulous, fin-de-siêcle feast for the senses and a life-affirming love story, The Night Circus is a captivating novel that will make the real world seem fantastical and a fantasy world real.

My Review

To: Bailey@nightcircus.com

Dear Mr Clark

My desire is to declare to you my dearest gratitude for the delightful description of a dynamic duo who demands diligent thought. I have, this last day, discovered the Circus of Dreams. A decadent dream world of devastatingly, desirous wishes. Alas it is also a dark dungeon of destructive and disastrous consequences.

When I descended upon your attention diverting Circus of Dreams at first I was distracted by the diverse chapters. I was dazed by the eccentric ensemble of characters and have to admit my desire to declare the book unfit for consumption. However, dedication prevailed and I was drawn into the diverse web that is your Circus of Dreams. Once I was entirely encased I was (for want of a better word) a gonner.

Celia and Marco, to me, was the greatest, most suited couple in literature I have seen in quite some time. My wish for them to have a happy ending was only dwarfed by my need to not see the book spoilt by some cliché. I was satisfied in both accounts.

My only disappointment was found in the dissatisfaction of the ending of the Circus. I wish that I, like all your devoted followers could become a Rêvuer and visit your spectacular home time and time again.

13 thoughts on “The Night Circus

  1. Reading is my passion and has been ever since I could recognise my first word. It will forever be a solace in times of trouble and a friend when you most need one.
    Love your blog. Keep at it and thanks.

      • I chose The Night Circus intially for the beautiful cover art also (and was pleased to see that the art snuck its way inside as well 🙂 ) but I was glad that got my attention because it was a cracker of a read!

        • The book was given to me by a friend. She got it from a friend who got it from her mother in law etc etc. The book has literally traveled the globe (just like the circus – which I thought was quite a nice coincidence).

          She raved and raved and I picked it up – and initially had trouble getting into it until someone on Goodreads picked it out for me and forced me to push through. Boy was I glad.

          I loved the art and when I finished the book I celebrated with a Black and White striped dress.

          Thanks for stopping by.

Lemme Know What You Think

